Here we will talk about a very tasty and refreshing drink, which is a margarita. A margarita is a Mexican drink because it came to the world through Mexico. Many people raise this question Are margaritas gluten free? So, today we will discuss it in detail.
Ever since then, it has maintained its place and people’s interest in this drink and people like to have this drink all around the world.
The main ingredient to prepare a margarita is usually tequila and it always comes from the agave plant. After a long day, a lot of people like to have a margarita to deal with all the stress and we can find this drink in all restaurants and clubs but we can make it at home as well.
A margarita is made with some tequila mixed with orange liqueur like triple sec and fresh lime juice and there are 1.5 to 2 shots of alcohol or tequila available in a glass of tequila. It contains around one shot of orange liqueur and almost around one shot of freshly squeezed lemon juice.
Many people who like to have a margarita also wonder if it is a gluten-free drink. Some people like to know it because they want to follow a strictly gluten-free diet. Some people can’t have gluten because they are gluten intolerant. People know this disease as celiac disease.
In this article, we will talk all about the drink margarita, what is gluten and gluten intolerance, does a margarita contains any gluten, and how one can prevent it. Gluten intake even in a pinch-sized amount can cause a reaction in gluten intolerant people that’s why it’s better to stay aware of your allergies rather than face the consequences of having them in your diet.
1. All About A Margarita
The drink which we call a margarita is a Mexican beverage and it is a mixture of tequila, orange liqueur, and fresh lime juice. It was first invented by the people of Mexico and people like it with Mexican beverages. We can easily find this drink in any Mexican restaurant but as time changes, we can find a margarita in any restaurant and any part of the world.
A traditional margarita is always made with two parts of the alcohol that is tequila, one equal part of triple sec, and one equal part of the lime juice. But as time changed this drink has also changed with time. Now we can have a slushy margarita, fruity margarita, spicy jalapeno margarita, and also on the rocks.
2. How To Prepare A Margarita?
People say that the main ingredient in margaritas is tequila and to make a margarita we need 2 shots of tequila, one shot of lemon juice, and exactly one shot of fresh lime juice. It is always advisable to use freshly squeezed lime juice instead of readily available lime juice to savour the natural flavour of it.
Take all the required ingredients to make a margarita put it in a shaker with some ice cubes and close the jar to shake it properly for 30 seconds. You can put some salt on the edge of the glass to balance the taste of a margarita and decorate the drink with a lime piece on it.
Along with the traditional recipe, there are a lot of new recipes to make a margarita. Let’s discuss some other ways to prepare a margarita.
2.01. Jalapeno Margarita
To make this drink, one might need some jalapeno peppers along with all the ingredients required to make a margarita. Add some jalapeno in the shaker with two shots of tequila with some fresh lime and orange liqueur and shake it well for some time then pour it in the margarita glass and enjoy the taste.
2.02. On The Rocks
To prepare this epic drink we need some tequila along with orange liqueur and freshly squeezed lime juice. Add all the ingredients to the shaker, and shake it for around 10 seconds. Take a glass and pour a few ice cubes in it then pour the mix into the glass and stir it with something straw, put a lemon slice on its edge, and enjoy your drink.
2.03. Fruity Slushy Margarita
To make this type of margarita we need to use some fruits and more ice. First make a puree of the fruit you are willing to add like strawberry, strain the puree and add the juice obtained in the blender with tequila, triple sec, lime juice, and a lot of ice. Blend everything and put the fruity mixture into a glass. Make sure to use fresh fruit to make it gluten-free, market products may save some gluten and we can use many fruits to prepare this special drink like mango, strawberry, raspberry, orange, etc.
3. How To Rim A Margarita Glass?
Margaritas are always served in a cocktail glass with salt on its rim because it helps to make it taste better. For this, you need a whole lemon and some salt. There are two ways to do this and first is to squeeze a lemon on a plate, dip the rim of the glass in it, and put it in another plate with some salt in it.
The second method is to cut a lemon in half and rub it on the rim of the glass and after doing this simply sprinkle some salt on it. You are free to choose any method from the above options.
4. What Is Gluten?
Well, if we want to learn about what gluten intolerance is, we need to learn about gluten first. Gluten falls under the category of different proteins and we can naturally get it from many different grains. Gluten works as a bond between the particles of the grain and provides it the elasticity it needs.
It is naturally present in grains so it cannot be removed from the gains because all the fruits and vegetables are 100% gluten-free. For people suffering from a disease called celiac, even a pinch of grain is capable of hospitalizing them. So; these people need to be careful with their food intake to avoid this situation.
5. Is Tequila Gluten-Free
Tequila is the key component of a margarita. If we want to know whether a margarita is gluten-free or not, we need to look closely at all the elements required to prepare a margarita. We will start with tequila. Mexican people like to have a margarita at any time of the day. It is their traditional drink because it has been there for ages.
There is a plant named blue agave, which is used to make tequila. The substance obtained from the insides of agave plants is sweet so it gives tequila a good taste. It mainly grows in Mexico because that is its origin country and tequila is in demand there.
Tequila is extracted from a plant which makes it a plant-based drink. Plants don’t contain natural gluten in it. So, it is safe to say that tequila is completely gluten-free.
6. Is Orange Liqueur Gluten Free
Orange liqueur is a brand name for triple sec. That is a type of alcoholic beverage but it is not consumed as it is. Different kinds of alcoholic beverages have a triple sec. It is an orange-flavored sweetened alcohol and it makes it a suitable match for margaritas.
The alcohol contained is high in triple sec that’s why it works perfectly to dilute tequila in margaritas. The orange peel makes it. Orange is a fruit and fruits are gluten-free so it makes triple sec gluten-free too.
7. Is Lime Juice Gluten Free
To balance the sweetest, people add lime to their drink. and it falls under the category of citrus fruits. Lemons are gluten-free because they are fruits. Limes are similar to lemon but they are different technically.
We should use freshly squeezed lime juice to ensure the freshness. The lime juice available in the market may have some gluten in it, so try to use fresh lime or read the label of the market product very carefully.
8. Margarita Mixers
Some people like to have a margarita but they want to make it at home by themself. Particularly for this purpose, there are margarita mixers available in the market. We can see many different textures and tastes of margaritas. Margarita mixes are a combination of lime juice, triple sec, and some simple syrup. Mix the combination of lime juice, orange liqueur, and some simple syrup with the tequila of your choice. Pour the mixer into a shaker with some ice cubes and shake it well to mix everything. Add the mixture to the margarita glass and savour the taste of it.
For people suffering from gluten intolerance, it is important to track everything you use. Usually, it is stated on the pack of margarita mix that it is gluten-free but some might have some gluten in it. Read all the ingredients written on all the packs very carefully to be safe.
9. Are Margaritas Gluten Free?
Based on our previous discussion, we can safely say that all the basic ingredients used in making a margarita like tequila, triple sec, and freshly squeezed lime juice are gluten-free. As long as the products used to prepare a margarita are fruit or vegetable-based, it’s safe to use. Gluten-intolerant people can safely enjoy a margarita.
When you are preparing it at home, you can keep track of everything and every ingredient. But when you are in a restaurant, there is always a risk. The utensil used to make something with gluten can trigger your allergies if you are gluten intolerant.
It is important to do something beforehand to avoid the risks. Make sure to tell the bartender about your gluten intolerance so that he can be careful with your drink. Vodka is also gluten-free alcohol. Beer is not gluten-free.
We can prepare a margarita in many different ways in today’s world. We can add many different types of fruits to it. Different fruit juices can always be used in this process. We can serve them in any glass of our own choice. People can have it every day but not in too much quantity. Women can have 2 drinks a day by many people’s advice and men can have 3 drinks a day.
10. Final Note
A margarita is a Mexican alcoholic beverage, which is a mixture of tequila with lime juice and triple sec. We need 2 parts tequila with one part fresh lime juice and one part orange liqueur. One of the important elements of a margarita is always tequila. We make tequila from the blue agave plant and its nectar is sweet. People use a cocktail glass with salt on its rim to serve a margarita. It comes in the category of things that haven’t changed with time.
All the basic ingredients used to make a margarita are gluten-free because they are fruit-based. According to the reports, all kinds of fruits are naturally gluten-free. Gluten is protein only and that is always found in grains. We can find it in nature around us. Gluten is in their composition so we can’t separate it. People suffering from celiac disease can’t eat anything that has gluten in it. They can have severe allergic reactions and may need to be hospitalized.
All types of margaritas are usually gluten-free because they use plant-based products. We can enjoy margaritas by adding all kinds of fruits to it. It is a really strong drink in comparison to other drinks.