A margarita is a Mexican refreshing drink because it came to the world through Mexico. Since then, it has maintained its place, and people’s interest in this drink has increased. People all around the world like to have this drink. However, people with gluten intolerance1 may have doubts whether they are gluten-free or not?
Many people who like to have a margarita also wonder if it is a gluten-free drink2. Some people like to know because they want to follow a strictly gluten-free diet. Some people can’t have Gluten because they are Gluten intolerant. People see this disease as celiac disease.
This article will discuss the drink margarita, gluten and gluten intolerance, whether it contains Gluten, and how one can prevent it. Gluten intake, even in a pinch-sized amount, can cause a reaction in gluten-intolerant people. That’s why it’s better to stay aware of your allergies rather than face the consequences of having them in your diet.
1. Origin Of Margarita
The drink is called a margarita, and it is a Mexican beverage. It is a mixture of tequila, orange liqueur, and fresh lime juice. The people of Mexico first invented it, which is like Mexican beverages. It is their traditional drink because it has been there for ages. One can easily find this drink in any Mexican restaurant, but as time passes, one can find a margarita in any restaurant and any part of the world.
A traditional margarita is always made with two parts of the alcohol: tequila, one equal part of triple sec, and one equal part of the lime juice. But as time has changed, this drink has also changed. Now, one can have a slushy margarita, fruity margarita, spicy jalapeno margarita, and also on the rocks.
2. How To Prepare A Margarita?
Tequila, a spirit made from the agave plant3, is the main ingredient in margarita preparation. To make a margarita, Take two shots of tequila, one of lemon juice and exactly one of fresh lime juice. It is always advisable to use freshly squeezed lime juice instead of readily available lime juice to savour its natural flavour.
Please take all the required ingredients to make a margarita, put them in a shaker with some ice cubes, and close the jar to shake it properly for 30 seconds. You can put some salt on the edge of the glass to balance the taste of a margarita and decorate the drink with a lime piece.
There are many new margarita recipes besides the traditional r recipe. Many people like to have a margarita after a long day to deal with all the stress. This drink can be found in all restaurants and clubs, but one can also make it at home. Let’s discuss some other ways to prepare a margarita
2.1. Jalapeno Margarita
To make this drink, one might need some jalapeno peppers and all the ingredients required to make a margarita. Add some jalapeno to the shaker with two shots of tequila and some fresh lime and orange liqueur, shake it well for some time, then pour it into the margarita glass and enjoy the taste
2.2. On The Rocks
To prepare this epic drink, you need tequila, orange liqueur, and freshly squeezed lime juice. Add all the ingredients to the shaker and shake it for around 10 seconds. Take a glass and pour a few ice cubes into it. Then, pour the mix into the glass and stir it with a straw. Put a lemon slice on its edge, and enjoy your drink.
2.3. Fruity Slushy Margarita
To make this margarita, you must use some fruits and more ice. First, puree the fruit you want to add, like strawberries. Strain the puree and add the juice obtained in the blender with tequila, triple sec, lime juice, and a lot of ice. Blend everything and put the fruity mixture into a glass.
To make it gluten-free, make sure to use fresh fruit; market products may save some calories. You can prepare this special dessert using many fruits, like mango, strawberry, raspberry, orange, etc.
3. How To Rim A Margarita Glass?
Margaritas are always served in a cocktail glass with salt on the rim because it helps them taste better. For this, you need a whole lemon and some salt. There are two ways to do this. The first is to squeeze a lemon on a plate, dip the rim of the glass in it, and put it on another plate with some salt.
The second method is to cut a lemon in half and rub it on the rim of the glass. After doing this, sprinkle some salt on it. You are free to choose any method from the above options.
4. What Is Gluten?
Gluten is a different protein; one can naturally get it from many other grains. Gluten is a bond between the grain particles, providing them with the necessary elasticity. It is naturally present in grains, so it cannot be removed from the gains because all the fruits and vegetables are 100% gluten-free.
For people suffering from a disease called celiac4, even a pinch of grain can hospitalize them. These people must be careful with their food intake to avoid this situation.
5. Are margaritas Gluten-Free?
Tequila is the key component of a margarita. To determine whether a margarita is gluten-free, You must examine all the elements required to prepare one. Blue agave is a plant used to make tequila. The substance obtained from the insides of agave plants is sweet, giving tequila a good taste.
Because of its origin, tequila mainly grows in Mexico, and it is in demand there. Tequila is extracted from a plant, making it a plant-based drink. Since plants don’t contain natural Gluten, tequila is safe to say that it is completely gluten-free.
5.1. Is Orange Liqueur Gluten Free?
Orange liqueur is a brand name for triple sec, an alcoholic beverage. Triple sec is not consumed as it is; different kinds of alcoholic drinks have it. It is an orange-flavoured sweetened alcohol, which makes it suitable for margaritas.
The alcohol contained is high in triple sec, which is why it works perfectly to dilute tequila in margaritas. The orange peel makes it. Orange is a fruit, and gluten-free fruits make triple sec gluten-free.
5.2. Is Lime Juice Gluten Free?
People add lime to their drinks to balance the sweetest. Lime falls under the category of citrus fruits. Lemons are gluten-free because they are fruits. Limes are similar to lemons, but technically, they are different.
It would be best if you used freshly squeezed lime juice to ensure freshness. The lime juice available in the market may contain Gluten, so try to use fresh lime or read the market product label very carefully.
Therefore, You can safely say that all the basic ingredients used in making a margarita, such as tequila, triple sec, and freshly squeezed lime juice, are gluten-free. If the products used to prepare a margarita are fruit—or vegetable-based, they’re safe to use. Gluten-intolerant people can safely enjoy a margarita.
When preparing it at home, you can keep track of everything and every ingredient. But when you are in a restaurant, there is a risk. The utensil used to make something with Gluten can trigger your allergies if you are Gluten intolerant.
It is important to do something beforehand to avoid the risks. Tell the bartender about your gluten intolerance so that he can be careful with your drink. Vodka is also a gluten-free alcohol, but beer is not. You can add many kinds of fruits; other fruit juices can always be used.
You can serve them in any glass of your own choice. People can have them every day, but not in too large a quantity. According to many people’s advice, women can have 2 drinks a day, and men can have 3 drinks a day.
5.3. Margarita Mixers
Some people like margaritas but want to make them at home. Margarita mixers are available in the market, particularly for his purpose. Margaritas have many different textures and tastes. Margarita mixes combine lime juice, triple sec, and some simple syrup.
For people suffering from gluten intolerance, it is important to track everything they use. Usually, the pack of margarita mix states that it is gluten-free, but some might contain gluten. Read all the ingredients written on all the packs carefully to be safe.
6. Final Note
All the basic ingredients used to make a margarita are gluten-free because they are fruit-based. According to the reports, all kinds of fruits are naturally gluten-free. All types of margaritas are usually gluten-free because they use plant-based products. You can enjoy margaritas by adding all sorts of fruits to it. It is a really strong drink in comparison to other beverages.
However, people with allergies must read all the ingredients in margarita mixes available in the market. Otherwise, they need to make the drink at home with fresh ingredients to enjoy it without fear of allergies.
- Czaja-Bulsa, Grażyna. “Non coeliac gluten sensitivity–A new disease with gluten intolerance.” Clinical nutrition 34.2 (2015): 189-194. ↩︎
- Kreisz, Stefan, et al. “Cereal-based gluten-free functional drinks.” Gluten-Free Cereal Products and Beverages. Academic Press, 2008. 373-392. ↩︎
- Nava-Cruz, N. Y., Medina-Morales, M. A., Martinez, J. L., Rodriguez, R., & Aguilar, C. N. (2015). Agave biotechnology: an overview. Critical reviews in biotechnology, 35(4), 546-559. ↩︎
- Fasano, Alessio, and Carlo Catassi. “Celiac disease.” New England Journal of Medicine 367.25 (2012): 2419-2426. ↩︎
Last Updated on by Namrata